Welcome to the Victoria Battery Tramway and Museum

Named after Queen Victoria in her 60th jubilee year, the Battery had 200 stampers-the largest number at one time of any similar site in the world crushing on an average of 800 tonnes of ore per day – six days a week.

VBTS read moreIt was the largest quartz ore processing plant in Australasia and one of the biggest industrial sites in New Zealand in the early 1900’s. Then it was the country’s largest producer of gold -10 times more than the next largest battery.

Our Society provides attractions on open days to give an insight into aspects of the hard rock processing in the good ole tough goldmining days when men worked hard, often in not ideal conditions, for very little pay.

We are open

Sundays, Wednesdays and Public Holidays from 10:00am to 3:00pm:

Sun 30 Oct

Wed 2 Nov

Sun 6 Nov

Wed 9 Nov

Sun 13 Nov

Wed 16 Nov

Sun 20 Nov

Wed 23 Nov

Sun 27 Nov

Wed 30 Nov

How to find us

Visitor feedback

Come and enjoy some New Zealand history.


Awesome history.


Cool - thank you.


Fascinating insight.




Good ole days.


Just golden.


Keep up the good work – well done.






Really worth a look.


What I didn’t know about.


To be recommended.


Very educational.


Lots to learn – thanks.


Really friendly.


Don’t let history die.

Contact us

Phone Mail Email
+64 (0)27 351 8980 Victoria Battery Tramway & Museum Society Inc.
P.O. Box 173, Waihi, 3641, New Zealand